June 23, 2018

Day of Reason – Minnesota

Loading Map....

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

State Capitol Rotunda

Minnesota Atheists are hosting the  eighth annual Day of Reason, celebrating the separation of church and state, in the State Capitol Rotunda at noon on May 2, 2013. The Day of Prayer event is scheduled to be held simultaneously on the steps leading to the Capitol.

The National Day of Reason was instituted as a protest against the National Day of Prayer, established by Congress in 1952, and fixed in 1988 as the first Thursday in May. The National Day of Reason is supported by secular groups across the country in support of separation of church and state.

The Theme, One Nation Indivisible, makes the point that government should respect all points of view and not endorse one sectarian view over any other. The Pledge of Allegiance has changed over the years to reflect the tyranny of a religious majority over a non-religious minority.  Our event will honor our secular Constitution and secular veterans who took an oath to protect it.  The Day of Reason celebration will feature speakers on the benefits of secular governance. Those who want will recite the secular Pledge of Allegiance, and Minnesota Atheists will give Certificates of Appreciation to veterans, who will have time to speak on their personal views.

Speakers to date are: Eric Jayne Minnesota Atheists, Scott Lohman Humanist of Minnesota, Blake Page Military Religious Freedom Foundation and David Pacheco, Americans United for Separation of Church and State and Representative Phyllis Kahn. Masters of Ceremony and presenters will be George Kane and Heather Hegi, and Committee Chair for Day of Reason Steve Petersen


2013 Day of Reason Agenda


Noon – 12:01MC:  George Kane and Heather Hegi Minnesota Atheists

12:01 – 12:03Eric Jayne President of Minnesota Atheists

*12:04 – 12:09Representative Phyllis Kahn, non partisan Welcome to the Capitol and any thoughts on Separation of Government and Religion.

12:10 – 12:13Scott Lohman, President of The Humanists of Minnesota

12:14 – 12:17David Pacheco President of Americans United for Separation of Church and State

12:18 – 12: 33Blake Page, Military Religious Freedom Foundation

12:34- 12:37 Grant Steves, Minnesota Atheists

12:38 – 12:39 Secular Pledge of Allegiance

12:40-12:43Hiero Russell Past President of the Humanists of Minnesota and Marine.

12:44- 12:47 Jacob Wittlief Iraq  war veteran

12:49-1:00 Certificates of Appreciation awards.

Minnesota Atheists is a positive atheist organization actively promoting secular values through participating in public affairs, providing educational programs and hosting the only live atheist radio talk show in the state: Atheists Talk, Sundays, 9:00-10:00 a.m., KTNF AM 950. Minnesota Atheists is Minnesota’s oldest, largest, and most active atheist organization.  Additional information can be found atwww.mnatheists.org or on Facebook.